Google+
Birch State Park
Joine the Chamber
Community Focus Online
ftlchamber Map Project
Trustee
2016 Guide
BusinessF1RST Fort Lauderdale

Chamber Committees

The Greater Fort Lauderdale Chamber of Commerce offers several opportunities to become involved. Get involved sign up for a Committee Action Team today!
Click here to sign up.

Chamber Committees & Action Teams

BUDGET & FINANCE COMMITTEE

The investment you make in the Chamber is critical to our success and the Finance Committee works closely with the administration to make sure we are making good fiscal decisions. This group studies the financial condition of The Chamber and recommends to the Board of Directors the proposed budget. 

Contact Chuck Mohr at cmohr@fishverify.com


 BYLAWS COMMITTEE

This committee reviews amendments to the Chamber's governing documents and makes recommendations on a periodic basis to the Board of Directors. 

Contact Suzanne Bogdan at sbogdan@laborlawyers.com.


BUSINESSF1RST

BusinesF1rst is an economic retention and recruitment partnership between the City of Fort Lauderdale and the Chamber.  Jointly funded by both entities, BusinessF1rst conducts field visits with companies to determine their needs while working on issues like regulatory reform (i.e. parking, signage, noise, changes in existing use, etc.)  The group meets on an as needed basis to facilitate its program of work.

Contact Kelly Kolb at  kelly.kolb@bipc.com or
Stuart Galup at sgalup@fau.edu


GOVERNMENT AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

This important Chamber group reviews and develops public policy positions that are "pro-business and pro-South Florida." Research is involved.  The Chamber leadership then takes the positions to elected officials and staff.
 

Contact
Contact Jon Polenberg at jpolenberg@polenbergcooper.com or
Stephen Tilbrook at stephen.tilbrook@gray-robinson.com


HEALTHCARE COMMITTEE

Contact: Ron Finkelstein at rfinkelstein@mbafcpa.com or
Ashley Boxer at Aboxer@MHS.net


 MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE

The Membership Committee reviews and recommends strategies, procedures, and best practices for the recruitment and retention of Chamber members.  A goal is to facilitate business between members and proactively add value to every member’s association with the Chamber.

Contact Suzanne Higgins at 
shiggins@hendersonbehavioralhealth.org or
Melissa Milroy at 
Melissa.milroy@am.jll.com

The Membership Committee It is comprised of the following sub-committees:

Diplomat Committee
The purpose of the Diplomat Committee is to perpetuate the success of new Chamber members, so that they become long-term, active members. Diplomats  are responsible for reaching out to Chamber members who submit a Concierge Profile online; directing them to events and committees that will support their success in the Chamber; introducing them to potential “strategic partners” – people whose client is the same target market that the member is seeking. Also responsible for selecting the next month’s Chamber “member of the month”.

Contact Mindy Jennings at MindyJ@Payrolls-plus.com

Non-Profit Liaison Committee
Responsible for integrating non-profit and for-profit Chamber members; coordinating the “feature non-profit message” at Trustee events; selecting the “Chamber Hero of the Month”. Meets 2nd Wednesday 9:30 am at the Non-Profit Recourse Center, Chamber Building. 

Contact
Sandra Veszi Einhorn at sandra@npobroward.org
Robert Boo at
rboo@pridecenterflorida.org


NOMINATING COMMITTEE
This group is in charge of selecting the Chair-Elect and Directors of the Chamber, and is appointed by the current Chair. It is responsible to publish the slate to the membership committee in December. 

Contact Keith Costello at keithcostello1957@gmail.com .


SMALL BUSINESS COMMITTEE
This group consists of managers and owners of small to medium size businesses. This committee is responsible for the monthly Business Perks breakfast, Jazz in the Hall and the Small Business Awards Breakfast. Meets at the Chamber, Fourth Friday of each month, 8:30 am. 

Contact Bill Holland at William.Holland@edwardjones.com
or Arminda "Mindy" Figueroa at arminda@latin2latin.com


 TALLAHASSEE SUMMIT

Contact Marilyn Oliva at marilyn@mpowerstrategies.com


TRANSPORTATION/SUSTAINABILITY COMMITTEE

Contact Diane Alarcon at dalarcon@fortlauderdale.gov or
Sheryl Dickey at sdickey@dickeyinc.com
 


TRUSTEE ADVISORY GROUP
FOR CHAIRMAN CIRCLE AND TRUSTEES ONLY

Meets at the Chamber, second Thursday of each month, 4:00 pm. 

Contact Jean McIntyre at Jean.McIntyre@iberiabank.com or 
Jonathan Keith at jlkrealtor@gmail.com


WORKFORCE & EDUCATION COMMITTEE

The Business Education & Development Committee is committed to providing members with information that is applicable in a wide range of situations for stimulating growth and increasing competitiveness in a rapidly changing marketplace. Currently, the committee provides chamber members with dynamic workshops in an effort to bridge the gap between business knowledge and the practical application of leading business principles.Moreover, the Business Education & Development Committee launched Chamber University, which features partnerships with Kaplan University and Broward College. The goal of Chamber University is to provide members with a wide range of educational resources, including degree and certificate programs, to help members accumulate the knowledge required to manage, lead, or grow a thriving business.

Contact Anthony Abbate at aabbate@fau.edu 
or Lynn Goldman at lynn.goldman@browardschools.com


WASHINGTON SUMMIT STEERING COMMITTEE

This biennial summit provides an intimate opportunity for delegates to meet with Members of Congress and the South Florida Congressional Delegation to discuss critical issues affecting their businesses.
You will participate in briefings with congressional department heads, attend receptions with the Florida Delegation and join meetings with our trading partners. Additional events are planned to take place at the Capitol, National Press Club and the Pentagon.

Contact Juliet Roulhac at j.roulhac@fpl.com or
Marilyn Oliva at marilyn@mpowerstrategies.com 


 

YOUNG PROFESSIONALS (B.E.S.T.)

Contact Beth Bryant at beth@HANDYinc.org or
Nicole Chong at nicole.chong@clegalgroup.com

Calendar of Events

FaceBook Fans

Member of the Month

November 2016 Member of the Month 

Andy Perrot, Lightship Entertaintment

Andy has been a member of the Greater Fort Lauderdale Chamber of Commerce since 2013.  Andy earned a Bachelor of Arts at Williams College in 1990 and initially worked at WCVB-TV in Boston before being hired by Lifetime Television in New York. In 1997 Andy was recruited by Disney to work as a Producer in Orlando. He left Disney in 1999 to start his own production company, Lightship Entertainment. Lightship Media is a full service production company specializing in producing television shows, commercials and promotional videos of all kinds. Under Andy’s supervision, the company has produced more than a dozen prime time shows for Travel Channel, Discovery Channel, the Science Channel and Destination America on various subjects ranging from the thrill rides at Walt Disney World to the latest innovations in concept car design. Andy is actively involved in the Chamber through the GLBX Council and the GLBX Leads Group. He serves on the GLBX Board of Directors and has been appointed Chair Elect for 2017. Andy played a crucial part in planning the very successful Artopia event; one of the Chambers’ annual events held at the NSU Museum of Art in 2016. On his free time, Andy spends time with his dog Bella and enjoys spending time with friends on his boat.