Join Now!


Hotel GM to lead Chamber Board in 2012

The general manager of two of Fort Lauderdale’s premiere hotels will lead the Greater Fort Lauderdale Chamber of Commerce in 2012 with its 43-member Board of Directors.

Andreas Ioannou, general manager of the Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort and Gallery One – A Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, will be the next Chairman of the Board.  He will be followed by Chuck Mohr, president of retail banking at Bank Atlantic, and Courtney Crush, Crush Law, in succeeding years.  Both Mike Walters, PNC Bank, and Suzanne Bogdan, Fisher Phillips, will continue in their positions as Treasurer and Legal Counsel respectively.

“It is an honor to be selected to chair this prestigious business organization,” Ioannou said.  “We have assembled a great team of leaders who will build upon the historic relevance of the Chamber.”

 “Andreas is a consummate professional and compelling leader as he has received many accolades for managing Hilton’s top performing resort,” said Dan Lindblade, president and CEO of the Chamber.  “Our focus will continue to be job retention and expansion, regulatory reform, education and workforce development, and transportation improvements.”

Directors nominated for three year terms include: Teresa Boyd, JP Morgan Chase, Louis Balbirer, Argy, Wiltse and Robinson, Linda Cooke, Habilitation Center, Nancy Botero, Broward College Foundation, and Barbara Carballo, Citibank.

One-year Director nominees are Calvin Glidewell, Broward General Hospital, and Robert Barron, Berger Singerman.

Council leaders next year are: Steve Tilbrook, Shutts and Bowen, Downtown Council; Bill Feinberg, Allied Kitchen and Bath, Oakland Park Wilton Manors; Mindy Jennings, Payroll Plus, Weston; Michael Faerber, D’Angelo Realty Group, Gay & Lesbian; Ina Lee, Travelhost Media, Beach, and Richard Clark, Clark Leadership Consulting, Economic Advisors.

Continuing Directors: Tony Coley, BB&T, Alan Garey, Decimal Engineering, Jen Klaassens, The Wasie Foundation, Doug Watt, Stiles Corporation, Sandra Mayor, BankUnited, Frank Herhold, Marine Industries Association of South Florida, Lynn Shatas, FP&L, and Charlene Bender, Regent Bank.

Directors At Large: Jim Oliver, Ritz Carlton, Tim Petrillo, The Restaurant Group, Jim Norton, Lifestyle Magazines, Mark Budwig, S. Mark Graphics, Kathryn Frost, SunTrust, and Dan Young, Young Consulting Group.

Vice chairs are: Heiko Dobrikow, Riverside Hotel, Membership; Sam Poole, Berger Singerman, Regulatory Reform/Environment; Gary Bitner, Bitner Goodman, Communications; Michelle Tanzer, Holland + Knight, International; Sidney Calloway, Shutts and Bowen, Transportation; and Mike Fields, NOVA Southeastern University, Education/Workforce Development.

Melissa Milroy, The Galleria at Fort Lauderdale, BusinessF1rst; Stephanie Toothaker, Tripp Scott, Government Affairs; Germaine Smith-Baugh, The Urban League, Strategic Planning; and Bill Holland, Edward Jones Investment, Small Business.

Chamber Bylaws require membership be notified of the right to petition additional candidates for Elected Director.  Members have the right to add nominations to the Elected Director positions by submitting a petition to the Nominating Committee with at least 50 signatures of members in good standing within ten (10) days of this notice.

For more information please contact Dan Lindblade, CAE,, 954/462-4911, or Carolyn Michaels, IOM,, 954/462-2396. 



Posted by: Dan Lindblade, CAE @ 12:00:00 am  Comments (0)
Items 1-1 of 10

View Archive